Spit Delaney's Island

The Invention
of the World

The Resurrection of Joseph Bourne

The Barclay Family Theatre

The Honorary Patron

Left Behind in
Squabble Bay

Innocent Cities

Over Forty in
Broken Hill

A Passion for Narrative

The Macken Charm

Broken Ground


Damage Done
by the Storm

The Master of Happy Endings

Other Publications

Jack Hodgins  


Awards and Honours

July 2011 "Comox Valley Walk of Achievement."

After the induction ceremony in the Sid Williams Theatre, friends, relatives, city officials, and an RCMP honour guard walked up the main street of Courtenay to "unveil" the plaque in the sidewalk in front of The Laughing Oyster Book Store.

Read the story in the Comox Valley Record

Larger view of plaque


2011 The Master of Happy Endings winner of the Victoria Butler Book Prize

2011 The Master of Happy Endings shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize, Canada and the Caribbean

2011 The Master of Happy Endings shortlisted for the BC Book Prize (fiction)

2011 The Master of Happy Endings: Monday Magazine's "M" award for favourite fiction book by a Victoria writer

2009-2010 Member of the Order of Canada - "For his contributions to Canadian literature as a writer whose work celebrates the people and landscape of Vancouver Island, and for his leadership as a teacher and mentor to many."

Citation read at Order of Canada Ceremony
September 3, 2010:

"Jack Hodgins, C.M.
Victoria, British Columbia

In Jack Hodgins' fiction, the people and places of Vancouver Island come alive, often in the midst of mysterious and magical forces. He is an acclaimed writer, admired for his structural and linguistic adventurousness. His work, known throughout the world, has garnered numberous honours, including the Governor General Literary Award for ficiton and the Commonwealth Literature Prize. He has also had tremendous influence as a teacher and mentor, and has shared his expertise in A Passion for Narrative, a highly regarded guide to writing fiction."

2006 "Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence"

2006 Terasen Lifetime Achievement Award "for an outstanding literary career in British Columbia"

2004 Honorary D.Litt, University of Victoria


2004 Distance: short-listed for the inaugural City of Victoria book award

2004 Distance: long-listed for the IMPAC/Dublin Award

2000 Broken Ground: the Torgi Talking Book of the Year

2000 Broken Ground: long-listed for the IMPAC/Dublin Award

2000 Broken Ground: the Ethel Wilson Prize for fiction in British Columbia

1999 Broken Ground: The Drummer General Award (Different Drummer Bookstore)

1999 Broken Ground: jury choice as "best novel of the year" in Quill and Quire

1999 Broken Ground: in Globe and Mail "top ten"

1999 Elected to the Royal Society of Canada

1998 Honorary D.Litt, Malaspina University-College

1996 "Finding Merville": (Comox Valley Record) first place in Neville Shanks Memorial Award for Historical Writing.

1995 Honorary D.Litt, University of British Columbia

1988 The Honorary Patron: short listed for the Stephen Leacock Award for Humour

1988 The Honorary Patron: the Commonwealth Literature Prize (Canada-Caribbean region)

1986 The Canada-Australia prize

1979 The Resurrection of Joseph Bourne: The Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction

1978 The Invention of the World: short listed for the Books in Canada First Novel Award

1978 The Invention of the World: the Gibson's First Novel Award

1977 Spit Delaney's Island: short listed for the Governor General's Award

1977 Spit Delaney's Island: the Eaton's B.C. Book Award

1973 "After the Season": the President's Medal, University of Western Ontario



Copyright © Jack Hodgins 2006    Site Map